Obinitsa church

Construction of the Apostolic Orthodox school and church in Obinitsa began in 1897. It was eventually completed and blessed in 1904. Unique in the Baltic states, it was a two-storey building made of wood, with a bell tower. The church was closed in 1950, when it began to be used as a school. The new church in Obinitsa is on the road leading to Piusa, next to the cemetery. Construction was started in 1950 by local priest Vileomon Talomees, with everything done to obstruct it the following year - it was not supported by the deanery of Võru County, but was supported by the Bishopric of Estonia. It was eventually blessed upon its completion in 1952 by Bishop Roman of Tallinn.

Features and amenities

  • Free parking


< back
See veebileht väljendab autori vaateid. Programmi korraldusasutus ei ole vastutav selle eest, kuidas seda infot võidakse kasutada.